LASA/Oxfam America Martin Diskin Memorial Lectureship

About the Lectureship

Dr. Martin Diskin was a vital member of the Latin American Studies Association and of Oxfam America. His passion towards the human rights movement and his guidance over grantmaking in Latin America proved to be invaluable. He was fervent about supporting justice and openly criticized the US foreign policy in Central America and Cuba. He demonstrated the value of being informed and strategic advocates. As Raymond Offenheiser remarked “his [was a] prophetic voice in a world so in need of courage and hopeful vision; his commitment to academic rigor in service of humanity.”

The Memorial Lectureship award is given to an outstanding individual who embodies Professor Martin Diskin’s commitment to the combination of activism and scholarship.

Call for nominations

The Martin Diskin Memorial Lectureship is offered at each LASA International Congress to an outstanding individual who combines commitments to activism and scholarship.

This distinguished lectureship is made possible largely by a generous contribution from Oxfam America, an organization committed to grassroots work and one with which Martin Diskin was closely associated.

Nominations, including self-nominations, are welcome. A nomination should include a substantive nomination letter by a current LASA member; and the nominee's current curriculum vitae, complete mailing address, telephone and fax numbers, and e-mail address. To nominate a candidate, send these materials no later than September 21, 2018, to the LASA Secretariat at: The award will be announced at the LASA2019 Awards Ceremony, and the awardee will be publicly honored.

The 2019 Selection Committee: Mariana Mora Bayo (Chair), CIESAS, Ciudad de México; Kevin Healy, Oxfam America; Victoria Sanford, City University of New York, Lehman College; Christopher Loperena, City University of New York; Norhy Torregrosa, Universidad de Santo Tomas / Universidad Libre; and Maria Paula Saffon, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México.

Lectureship history


AWARDEE: José Alberto Idiáquez, SJ (President Universidad Centroamericana, Nicaragua)


AWARDEE: Xavier Albó (CIPCA)




AWARDEE: Maria Mercedes Olivera y Bustamante (Centro de Estudios Superiores de México y Centroamerica)


AWARDEE 1: Lynn Stephen (University of Oregon)

AWARDEE 2: Silvia Rivera Cusicanqui (Universidad Mayor de San Andrés)


AWARDEE: Alberto Olvera (Universidad Veracruzana)


AWARDEE: Stefano Varese (University of California/Davis)


AWARDEE: Dr. Claudia Paz y Paz Bailey (Instituto de Estudios Comparados y Ciencias Penales)

Focus: Criminal Law Specialist, scholar, judge and litigator


AWARDEE: Carlos Ivan Degregori Caso (Instituto de Estudios Peruanos)


AWARDEE: Terri Karl (Stanford University)


AWARDEE: Orlando Fals Borda


AWARDEE: William Leogrande (American University)


AWARDEE: Jonathan Fox (American University)


AWARDEES: Rodolfo Stavenhagen (El Colegio de Mexico) and Rosalva Aida Hernández Castillo (Centro de Investigaciones y Estudios Superiores en Antropología Social - Mexico)


AWARDEE: Elizabeth Lira Kornfeld (Universidad Alberto Hurtado)

Focus: psycho-therapy/psychology; human rights activist


AWARDEE: Gonzálo Sánchez Gómez (Universidad Nacional de Colombia)

Focus: political violence in Colombia


AWARDEE: Ricardo Falla

Focus: the impact of military violence on Guatemalan indigenous communities