Congratulations to the LASA2019 Kalman Silvert Awardee: Lars Schoultz

January 11, 2019

Lifetime Achievement Award

The Latin American Studies Association is pleased to announce the LASA2019 Kalman Silvert Awardee: Lars Schoultz, Professor Emeritus of Political Science, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. 

Lars Schoultz will be publicly congratulated by the LASA President, Lynn Stephen, during the Welcome Ceremony of the Association's XXXVII International Congress LASA2019 “Nuestra América: Justice and Inclusion” in Boston, USA / May 24 - 27, 2019.

The Kalman H. Silvert Award was created in 1982 to honor the first president of the Latin American Studies Association and a leading figure in Latin American studies during his lifetime. It recognizes senior members of the profession who have made distinguished lifetime contributions to the study of Latin America. The award is given at each LASA International Congress.

Kalman Silvert Award

About LASA

The Latin American Studies Association (LASA) is the largest professional association in the world for individuals and institutions engaged in the study of Latin America. With over 13,000 members, over 60% of whom reside outside the United States, LASA is the one association that brings together experts on Latin America from all disciplines and diverse occupational endeavors, across the globe. LASA's mission is to foster intellectual discussion, research, and teaching on Latin America, the Caribbean, and its people throughout the Americas, promote the interests of its diverse membership, and encourage civic engagement through network building and public debate.

If you wish to interview a LASA Executive Council member, you can contact the LASA communications office at (412) 648-7929 or send an email to