LASA2022 Polarización socioambiental y rivalidad entre grandes potencias

Charles A. Hale Fellowship for Mexican History

About the Fellowship

This fellowship will reward excellence in historical research on Mexico at the dissertation level. It will be awarded at each LASA International Congress to a Mexican graduate student in the final phase of his or her doctoral research in Mexican history, broadly defined. Selection will be based on scholarly merit, and on the candidate’s potential contribution to the advancement of humanist understanding between Mexico and its global neighbors.

Charles A Hale was a distinguished scholar, known for his research on the intellectual history of Mexican liberalism in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Throughout his career, he earned the title of historian of political thought, specializing in Mexican History. His two most significant books are "Mexican Liberalism in the Age of Mora, 1821-1853" (1968), winner of Mexico's Fray Bernardino de Sahagn Prize, and "The Transformation of Liberalism in Late Nineteenth Century Mexico" (1989), winner of the Bolton Prize. These works earned him recognition in Mexico, culminating with the Order of the Águila Azteca in 1993, the highest honor that the Mexican government bestows on foreigners for their contribution to Mexican society.

The Hale family, along with LASA, established a memorial scholarship for the advanced study of Mexican history. The award is based on scholarly merit and on potential contribution to the advancement of humanist understanding between Mexico and its global neighbors.

Call for nominations

Selection will be based on scholarly merit and on the candidate’s potential contribution to the advancement of humanist understanding between Mexico and its global neighbors.

A qualified applicant must hold Mexican citizenship and be in the final phase of her/his doctoral program, that is, finished with coursework and exams but not yet granted the PhD. Applications must be accompanied by (1) verification by the dissertation committee chair of the student’s good standing in the doctoral program; (2) a one-page (single-spaced) statement that summarizes the dissertation project, in either English or Spanish; (3) a brief (two pages maximum) curriculum vitae.

To nominate a candidate, submit these materials no later than September 20, 2021, to the LASA Secretariat. The award will be announced at the LASA2022 Awards Ceremony, and the awardee will be publicly honored. The winner will present his/her research at a special panel during the Congress. LASA membership is not a requirement to receive the award.

The members of the 2022 Selection Committee are:

Diego Pulido Esteva (chair)
El Colegio de México

Paul J. Gillingham
Northwestern University 

Viridiana Hernández Fernández
Ohio State University

Fellowship history


AWARDEE: Angélica Márquez-Osuna (Harvard University)

HONORABLE MENTION: Diana Alejandra Méndez Rojas (Instituto de Investigaciones Dr. José María Luis Mora)


AWARDEE: Viridiana Hernández Fernández (University of California, Davis)

HONORABLE MENTION: Israel Rodríguez (El Colegio de México)


AWARDEE: Gerardo Sánchez Nateras (El Colegio de México)

HONORABLE MENTION: Carlos Inclán Fuentes (Yale University)


AWARDEE: Abraham Trejo Terreros (El Colegio de México)


AWARDEE: Adela Cedillo (University of Wisconsin, Madison)

HONORABLE MENTION: Marco Antonio Perez Jimenez (Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México)

HONORABLE MENTION: Axel Solorzano de la Rosa (Escuela Nacional de Antropología e Historia)


AWARDEE: Abigail Campo Mares (UNAM)


AWARDEE: Carlos Alberto Ortega Gonzalez (El Colegio de México)


AWARDEE: Gema Santa Maria (New School for Social Research)

HONORABLE MENTION: Ana Maria Salazar Vázquez


AWARDEE: Diana Irina Córdoba Ramírez (El Colegio de México)


AWARDEE: Irving Reynoso (UNAM)


AWARDEE: German Vergara (University of California, Berkeley)


AWARDEE: Carlos Bravo Regidor (University of Chicago)