The write-in period for the 2021 Executive Council is open

The Executive Council (EC) approved the slate presented by the Nominations Committee for next year’s EC members. You may include any additional write-in names that are not included on the slate below, before the final ballot is presented to the membership for a vote.

To be included as a write-in candidate, the individual must be a member of LASA in good standing and must meet the conditions of the Constitution and By-laws and meet the required level of the LASA Service Path. Please include the curriculum vitae of each candidate and determine beforehand that they are willing to have their names included on the ballot.

Signatures of a minimum of 4 % of the membership in good standing will be required for each write-in. The membership for the 2020 calendar year as of November 3 is 12,523, which means that 500 signatures are required for each candidate. Please assemble all signatures in a PDF file and send them with the information about your write-in candidate to

You have six weeks to respond to this request, or until midnight EST of December 16, 2020. The final ballot will then be assembled and presented to the membership for a vote. It will also indicate which candidates were on the approved slate and which are write-ins.

Slate approved by the Executive Council

Vice President / President-Elect:

Fernando Blanco, Literature
Bucknell University (USA)

Ana López, Communications and Film
Tulane University (USA)

Margarita López Maya, Political Science
Universidad Central de Venezuela/CENDES (Venezuela)


Juan Poblete, Literature
University of California, Santa Cruz (USA)

Jennifer Pribble, Political Science
University of Richmond (USA)

Executive Council Members:

April Mayes, History
Pomona College (USA)

Sara Niedzwiecki, Political Science
University of California, Santa Cruz (USA)

Mario Pecheny, Political Science
Universidad de Buenos Aires (Argentina)

Montserrat Sagot, Sociology
Universidad de Costa Rica
(Costa Rica)

Rachell Sánchez, Sociology
University of Cambridge (United Kingdom)

Paul Schroeder Rodríguez, Cinema, Theater, Media and Visual Studies
Amherst College (USA)

Angela Vergara, History
California State University, Los Angeles (USA)

Gisela Zaremberg, Sociology
Facultad Latinoamericana de Ciencias Sociales, FLACSO (Mexico)